EFF Pioneer Awards Announced

EFF just announced the winners of their annual Pioneer Awards.

Awarded every year since 1992, EFF’s Pioneer Awards recognize leaders who are extending freedom and innovation on the electronic frontier. Past honorees include World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee, security expert Bruce Schneier, and the Mozilla Foundation and its chairman Mitchell Baker, among many others.

This years recipients are transparency activist Stephen Aftergood, public domain scholar James Boyle, legal blogger Pamela Jones and the website Groklaw, and e-voting researcher Hari Krishna Prasad Vemuru. Vemuru is the security researcher jailed, now out on bail, for his investigation into e-voting systems in India.

Candidates are nominated by the public and selected by a panel of judges. The full list of judges is in the announcement but among them are Cory Doctorow, a good friend and role model of mine, and Barbara Simons, with whom I am acquainted through her current work with the ACM.

The award ceremony will be held on November 8th, at 7:30PM, at the 111 Minna Gallery in San Francisco. Cory Doctorow will be the host and also attending, along with the recipients and several other notable folks, a VIP event beforehand.

If anyone reading this will be at the award ceremony and interested in covering the event for my podcast, let me know.

Transparency Activist, Public Domain Scholar, Legal Blogger, and Imprisoned E-Voting Researcher Win Pioneer Awards, EFF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *