theharmonyguy has a good clarification of a story leading to many sites dog piling on Facebook. In this instance he explains how the appearance of apps in the in the recently used section of a user’s profile is old behavior that happened with Friend Connect and third party sites well before the rollout of the new third party integration features. He also points out that just the appearance of these applications doesn’t mean they got any personal data as a consequence.
On the description page for an application, you’ll see a list of friends who have added the app. That list only includes friends of yours who have taken the extra step of “installing” the application as described above. If you only visit a Facebook-enhanced website or Facebook application but don’t agree to the extra prompt, you will never show up in that list or the general list of an application’s users.
There are clearly some limits, long standing ones, on what permissions are granted. However, despite this story being unintentionally exaggerated, it does highlight one of Facebook’s core problems. Most users cannot suss out what data is being shared with whom and how to alter their settings to effect a policy that matches their expectations. Even expert users have a hard time and many are publicly deleting or deactivating their accounts rather than making the effort.