I will make a note of that and try to reproduce. I can say that the only times I have saved published posts I have only altered the post contents, not changed categories. There may be an issue with WordPress where doing so resets the post options data that I am using to track the state of the post.

Just to confirm, if you do not add or change categories, the plugin works as advertised, not repeating itself?